We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Is a Memory Rank?

By Alex Newth
Updated May 16, 2024
Our promise to you
EasyTechJunkie is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At EasyTechJunkie, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Memory rank is a type of construction applied to dynamic random access memory (DRAM) chips. As a protocol, all ranks must consist of a 64-bit-wide bus and an 8-bit-wide chip, equaling a total width of 72 bits. While the memory rank must be 64-bits wide, the rank can consist of different size chips. Ranks can be single, dual, quad or octal, though most consumer computers only see single and dual. The higher ranks, which hold more memory, are typically seen on servers and higher-end computers.

A memory rank is the array of different DRAM chips that are connected. DRAM is different from regular random access memory (RAM) in that each piece of information is stored in a different capacitor in the chip. This allows the DRAM to recall information better than RAM. By creating a memory rank system, the DRAM is able to store more overall memory while still being compact and inexpensive.

The JEDEC Solid State Technology Association (JEDEC), formerly known as the Joint Electron Devices Engineering Council, is an independent council that decides on different protocols and standards for computer architecture and construction. The organization decided the most efficient way to build a memory rank would be by using a 64-bit bus, which refers to the size of the chip, along with an 8-bit error correction code (ECC) chip for a combined width of 72 bits. To be within these standards, rank cannot be larger or smaller than this width.

While the memory rank width is standard, the size of the chips does not have to be. For example, one company can make a rank with a single 64-bit chip, but another company can make the rank from eight 8-bit chips, and another can build a rank from 16 4-bit chips, and all three would be considered a standard memory rank. As long as the total is 64 bits, not including the ECC, then it fits the standard. There can also be different chips per layer; one DRAM piece may have a 16 4-bit layer, while another layer is made from eight 8-bit chips. Most companies prefer to use more chips, because this gives the DRAM more processing power and more areas in which to store data.

As of 2011, there are four types of rank: single or one layer, dual or two layers, quad or four layers and octal or eight layers. The more layers, the more memory the company can fit onto a chip. Commonly, consumers only find single- or dual-layer memory in their computers, while powerful server computers make use of the quad- and octal-layer ranked memory chips.

EasyTechJunkie is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
EasyTechJunkie, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

EasyTechJunkie, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.